Please note: Our showroom and office will be closed, for stock taking, from 18th December until 5.00pm on 20th December. No orders will be dispatched during this time. Orders placed between these times will be dispatched on Friday 21st December. 
We will be closed for Christmas and New Year from 21st December and we will re-open on 2nd January 2019. No orders will be processed during this period.
We would like to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Champion’s League Trophy Facts! DID YOU KNOW...

Did you know? 

  • The UEFA Champions League was introduced in 1992.
  • The tournament replaced the European Champion Clubs' Cup, or the European Cup, which had run since 1955.
  • 32 teams take part
  • The winner of the UEFA Champions League qualifies for the UEFA Super Cup and the FIFA Club World Cup
  • Real Madrid has won the tournament 12 times. Making them the most successful club in the competition's history.
  • The competition has been won by 22 different clubs.12 have won it more than once
  • The reigning champions are Real Madrid
  • The UEFA Champions League Anthem contains three official languages used by UEFA: English, German, and French.

You’ve read the facts about the UEFA Champion’s League competition but how much do you know about the trophy? Do you know what it’s made of and how much it weighs?

Check out our FAQs about the so-called ‘Cup with Big Ears’ below:


What is the Champions League Trophy made of?

The famous trophy is made of silver and has been dubbed 'the cup with the big ears' due to its shape.

Is there more than one Champions League Trophy?

It used to be that the trophy became the property of a club who wins the competition five times or three years in a row.

The original football trophy was donated by a French sports newspaper and was awarded to Real Madrid in 1966 for them to keep permanently after they won the tournament five times in a row.

A replacement trophy was designed and there have been several remakes using the same design ever since.

However, in 2009 the rules were changed and now the original trophy remains with UEFA and winning clubs are now awarded a replica.

The trophy currently being awarded has been in use since 2006.


How much does the Champions League Trophy weigh?

The current trophy weighs 7.5kg  (16.5 pounds) meaning it’s one of the heaviest trophies in sport.

In comparison, the N.F.L.’s Lombardi trophy weighs just 3.1kg (seven pounds).


What are the dimensions of the Champions League Trophy?

The trophy stands at 73.5cm tall


What is the design of the Champions League Trophy based on?

The current trophy is the fifth version of the current design. UEFA General Secretary Hans Bangerter commissioned it after Real Madrid was allowed to keep the original in 1967.

It was designed in Berne by the jeweller Jürg Stadelmann and took 340 hours to make


How much is the prize money for the Champions League winners?

The winners can expect to receive €15.5m


How much does the Champions League Trophy cost?

The cost of the current Champions League Trophy is not known.

However the original, which was given to Real Madrid in 1966 in recognition of their six titles, cost 10,000 Swiss francs.


Champions league winners

  • 2016-17 Real Madrid
  • 2015-16 Real Madrid
  • 2014-15 Barcelona 
  • 2013-14 Real Madrid
  • 2012-13 Bayern Munich
  • 2011-12 Chelsea
  • 2010-11 Barcelona
  • 2009-10 Internazionale
  • 2008-09 Barcelona
  • 2007-08 Manchester United
  • 2006-07 Milan
  • 2005-06 Barcelona
  • 2004-05 Liverpool 
  • 2003-04 Porto
  • 2002-03 Milan
  • 2001-02 Real Madrid
  • 2000-01 Bayern Munich
  • 1999-2000 Real Madrid
  • 1998-99 Manchester United
  • 1997-98 Real Madrid
  • 1996-97 Borussia Dortmund
  • 1995-96 Juventus
  • 1994-95 Ajax
  • 1993-94 Milan
  • 1992-93 Marseille 
  • 1991-92 Barcelona
  • 1990-91 Red Star Belgrade
  • 1989-90 Milan
  • 1988-89 Milan
  • 1987-88 PSV
  • 1986-87 Porto
  • 1985-86 Steaua Bucureşti
  • 1984-85 Juventus
  • 1983-84 Liverpool
  • 1982-83 Hamburg Juventus1-0
  • 1981-82 Aston Villa
  • 1980-81 Liverpool
  • 1979-80 Nottingham Forest
  • 1978-79 Nottingham Forest
  • 1977-78 Liverpool
  • 1976-77 Liverpool
  • 1975-76 Bayern Munich
  • 1974-75 Bayern Munich
  • 1973-74 Bayern Munich
  • 1973-74 Bayern Munich
  • 1972-73 Ajax
  • 1971-72 Ajax
  • 1970-71 Ajax
  • 1969-70 Feyenoord
  • 1968-69 Milan
  • 1967-68 Manchester United
  • 1966-67 Celtic
  • 1965-66 Real Madrid
  • 1964-65 Internazionale
  • 1963-64 Internazionale
  • 1962-63 Milan
  • 1961-62 Benfica
  • 1960-61 Benfica
  • 1959-60 Real Madrid
  • 1958-59 Real Madrid
  • 1957-58 Real Madrid
  • 1956-57 Real Madrid
  • 1955-56 Real Madrid

Please explore our football trophies for inspiration for your next tournament or league!

Filed under