Top 5 Grand Prix Motorcycle Racing World Champions

The Grand Prix motorcycle racing is considered as the premier championship of road motorcycle racing. The sport started in 1949 by the Federation Internationale de Motorcyclime (FIM) and included five classes; 50cc, 80cc, 125cc, 250cc, 350cc, 500cc and sidecar (600cc). Later, the classes were streamlined into three which includes; MotoGP, Moto2 and Moto3.

Just like the best athlete packs Gold and Silver in the Olympics, bike racing world championship is awarded to the most successful rider over seasons.

This is the list of the Top 5 Grand Prix Motorcycle Racing World Champions of all time:

1. Giacomo Agostini

Agostini popularly known as Ago, is the world champion of all time in Grand Prix motorcycle racing. He has 122 wins in Grand Prix with 15 world championships titles. He got 68 wins with 8 titles in the 500cc category, and the rest from the 350cc class.

The Italian started his racing career in 1963 when he was 23. His first race was in the 250cc National Grand Prix of 1963, while he started winning in 1965 at the 350cc German Grand Prix. 

The team he worked with during his active years includes; MV Augusta, Yamaha, Suzuki and the rest. 

His last win was in the 500cc German Grand Prix in 1976 after which he retired in 1977 after finishing 6th for Yamaha in the 750cc endurance race.

2. Angel Nieto

Angel was born in 1947, a native of Spain specialised in small displacement bikes like the 50cc, 80cc and 125cc. He has 13 Grand Prix world championships titles.

He has a total of 90 Grand Prix victories.

His racing career started back in 1964 at the 50cc Spanish Grand Prix, he made his first winning at the 50cc German Grand Prix in 1969. His team during his active years includes; Derbi, Kreidler, Minarelli, Bultaco, Morbidelli, and Garelli.

He got his last win at the showdown at the French Grand prix 80cc class in 1985 and retired in 1986 after the Baden-Württemberg Grand Prix, the 125cc category. He finished as the 13th position racing for Ducados.

3. Valentino Rossi

Valentino is an Italian professional rider, born in Urbino in 1979, he has been a world champion in MotoGP.

His racing career started with Aprilia in 1996 with the 125cc, won his first championship in 1997, another in the 250cc category in 1999, and for Honda in the 500cc in 2001, 2002 and 2003. Left Honda for Yamaha, he continued his world championship in Grand Prix motorcycle racing in 2004, and 2005, then later in 2008 and 2009. He went to claim the championship for Ducati in 2011. 

Rossi is still an active racer up to date and will be joining Yamaha for 2013 and 2014 season.

He is standing in overall wins behind Agostino with his 105 wins, he has 79 victories in MotoGP category and he is the first of all time in this class.

4. Mike Hailwood

He was a British National born in 1940. His nickname is "Mike The Bike"

His racing career started in 1958 at the 250cc Isle of Man TT. He won his first title as a world champion in 1959 at the 125cc Ulster Grand prix.

He had worked for the Honda and MV Agusta team at the international level.

Hailwood retired from motorbike racing in 1967 after he won the world title at the 350cc Japanese Grand prix. In 1979, he established a Honda-based motorcycle retail dealership with former racer Rodney Gould.

He died in 1981 after a fatal car accident with his family. Only David his son survived.

5. Carlo Ubbiali

Carlo, and Italian racer born in 1929, he has won the Grand Prix Motorcycle world championship nine times and he was the dominating force in the smaller categories although the 1950s.

Ubbiali finished fourth in the first year of when bike race began in the 125cc Swiss Grand Prix in 1949. He won his first title as a world champion in 1950 in the 125cc Ulster Grand Prix. He worked in the MV Agusta and Mondial team. He retired at the age of 30 after finishing as the first in the 1960 125cc National Grand Prix. Just like Mike Hailwood, he has won nine championship in Grand Prix motorcycle racing championship.

These are the list of the top 5 world giants of the Grand Prix motorcycle racing since inception in 1949. They were selected based on the number of winnings, and world titles.

Do you agree with the list? Let us know what you think?
Filed under General, Motorsport, Corporate